1291. The Militia Act of 1868 was subsequently amended in various ways. The Act under which the Militia Department conducts its work was passed in 1883 and is Chap. 40 of the Revised Statutes of Canada, 1886.

By it the militia of Canada is declared to consist of all the male inhabitants of Canada of the age of 18 years and upwards and under 60, not exempted or disqualified by law, this population being divided into four classes, as follow:—

The first class comprises those aged 18 or upwards and under 30, being unmarried or widowers without children.

The second class comprises those between the ages of 30 and 45, being unmarried or widowers without children.

The third class comprises those between 18 and 45, being married or widowers with children.

The fourth class comprises those between 45 and 60.

And those liable to serve shall be called upon in the above order.

- 1292. The following persons are exempt from enrollment and actual service at any time:—Judges, clergymen and ministers of all religious denominations, professors in colleges and teachers in religious orders, persons engaged in the collection or management of the revenue, the warders and officials of all penitentiaries and lunatic asylums, persons physically disabled and any person being the only son of a widow and her only support. Haly-pay and retired officers of the Imperial forces, sailors actually employed in their calling, pilots during the season of navigation, and masters of schools are exempt from service, except in case of war. Quakers, Mennonites, &c., may be exempted altogether under regulations prescribed by the Governor in Council.
- 1293. The militia is divided into active and reserve land force and active and reserve marine force. The active militia land force is composed of corps raised either by voluntary enlistment or ballot; the active marine force shall be raised in the same way, and composed of seamen, sailors and persons whose occupation is on vessels navigating the waters of Canada; and the reserve force, land and marine, consisting of the whole of the men not serving in the active militia for the time being.
  - 1294. The period of service in time of peace is three years.
- 1295. The number of men to be trained and drilled annually is limited to forty-five thousand, except as specially authorized, and the period of drill is to be sixteen days, and not less than eight days in each year.
- 1296. The Dominion is divided into eleven military districts, in each of which a permanent military staff is maintained, under command of a Deputy Adjutant-General.
- 1297. The permanent corps and Schools of Instruction consist of "A" and "B" Troops, Royal Canadian Dragoons, at Toronto and Winnipeg; "A" and "B" Batteries, Royal Canadian Artillery, at Kingston and Quebec; Nos. 1 and 2 Companies of Garrison Artillery at Quebec; Nos. 1, 2,